Racing Heart

A chance to breathe again breaking my love into pieces

one for you, one for me, and some for we

Trains like caterpillars, rolling by lights reflecting off of the metallic sides creating a pattern of sunshine on the platform

I step on and sit.

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday

I just step on

and sit

One day for music, one day for books, some with nothing but blank cold stares

Inspiration hits and runs with zero trace of being caught

Shame, guilt, and fear boil and come back to a simmer

I get off and walk

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday

I just get off and walk

Up the block people from all over the country come to visit throughout the year

The block where famous celebrities come and go

The block that always feels so cold even when the sun is shining

I look at the ice skating rink and wish to glide too

I open the doors, type my same code in, put my things away and walk

Walk, elevate, walk

Obey, lift, talk, listen

Walk, more walking, break, walk

Obey some more, walk some more, and maybe it’s time to go home

Put jacket back on, zip up and walk

Walk to the train that doesn’t sparkle anymore

Walking so fast my feet sometimes tangle

One leg over the metal and the following comes through

Desperation reaches when the doors open

An empty window seat please, please,please

A solid seating, comfortable, no creeps

Author: Gabriela Kaczor

23 Years Old New York City Writer, Photographer, All Around Artist and Creator

Leave a comment